What Can I Eat, Now?

Food

I got used to eating a certain way, some would say a boring way, as I was gaining control of Diabetes.  I admit I stuck to the same foods each week and since they were working for me – i.e. my glucose was coming down – do you think I was going to mess with my basic menu?  Not a chance.

If you have been diagnosed with Prediabetes, pay attention, please.  By making a few simple choices now you can either reverse the diagnoses (your glucose levels drop), or you can postpone the onset of Diabetes – and either one of those are good things!

But, as you know, I no longer take Metformin, or any med that lowers my glucose so I am a bit more paranoid about what I eat.  I think a bit about low fat; but I mostly think about carbs since carbs turn into…all together now, GLUCOSE.  Fewer carbs; less glucose.  That did not take a brain surgeon to figure out.  I did it all by myself.

I hit the raw fresh vegetables pretty hard – green, red, yellow…good thing I like most all of them.  Once I find a good salad, and by good I mean one that tastes good and is ‘easy’ on the glucose reading, I have a tendency to stick with it.  And what does it become?  A bit boring sooner or later.

Are you the same way?

Well, I got to looking around at sites I trust, and found this wonderful place from eatingright.org (the website of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics) that has easy, short games on it that give you information.  Go ahead, take a look and take a quiz.  I learned new things, and you might, too.  I found out I ate a balanced diet, but my knowledge of some foods and the effects of foods can be improved.

Oh, yes, I went to my friends (okay, maybe not exactly my friends) at the ADA and they have great information about food – about what you can eat and what you want to avoid.  Great information source.

eggplant

Why is what you eat so important?  Well, my Mother told me, “You are what you eat.”  We’ve all heard that and I avoided vegetables for years.  Who wants to be an eggplant?  But, since being diagnosed as a Diabetic, I had to relearn eating habits.  A hamburger is now a treat instead of a daily occurrence   Forget the milk shake and french fries.  Go for the side salad and iced tea…plain iced tea.

Why don’t ‘they’ tell you what to eat?  Well, because we are each different and our b0dy chemistry is different.  I can have the occasional hamburger, but others may not be able to eat anything like that.  You might be able to eat something that would give me a high glucose reading.  Why?  Because we are different.  You learn what you can eat through a little trial and error and maintaining a Food Diary.  By keeping a Food Diary you are writing your personalized book about what works to lower your glucose.  When you do that you are WINNING back your life one meal at a time!  And, you gain the confidence to win your War On Diabetes.

And always, always, always watch portion sizes.  Know what portion sizes are and use measuring cups, spoons, etc. to make sure you are getting the right portions.

Eat right.  Exercise.  Meds.  And, you will win your War On Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

