The Frontline of the War On Diabetes

frontlineEvery war has a frontline.  Usually it’s a line on a map.  You know what the frontline is, right?  It’s where all of the real fighting takes place.  It’s where victory and defeat happen.  It’s where ground is gained or lost.

So, what’s the front line for the War On Diabetes?  It’s Prediabetes.

I have told you that I wish I would have listened more closely when my doctor told me that I had Prediabetes.  I wish I had asked more questions.  Taken action.  Lost the weight.  Exercised a bit.  And defeated it when I could.  But, no – I didn’t do much of anything.  How dumb was I?  But, you don’t have to be as ignorant.

What is Prediabetes?  It’s diagnosed when your A1c level is between 6.0 and 6.5.  It’s then when you can act…when you can reverse it or postpone the onset of Diabetes – and you do not want to get Diabetes!  The American Diabetes Association has a pretty clear explanation of it.   It means if you do nothing, Diabetes is in your future – who wants that?

So, what do you do if you are diagnosed?  Diet and Exercise.  And some doctors are even starting patients on meds to help lower their glucose even as Prediabetics.  Take your meds as prescribed. Pick them up from the pharmacy and take them, please.

Start a lower carb diet.  Look, there are 100’s…1,000’s of diets out there.  It can be so confusing and daunting trying to choose one.  You just want to limit your carb intake.  Why carbs?  Because they turn into sugar in the body, aka glucose.  And, for Prediabetics glucose is the enemy.  The approach listed here seems to be a good place to start. 

For me, after being diagnosed as a Diabetic, my first diet change was going to 55 to 60 carbs per meal with snacks of 15 carbs between each meal and before bed.  Total carb intake was 210 to 225 carbs per day.  Quite a reduction from what I was eating.  But, you know what, it worked.  Now, I eat fewer thank 200 carbs.

Exercise does not mean running out and joining a gym.  If it meant that I’d have to do that, I might not do it.  Exercise means you move for 30 minutes a day.  I chose walking.  It’s easy and a lot of folks can do it.  You can start slow and build distance and speed.  I know of a lady who could not walk 40 feet without losing her breath when she started, but in a few months she was walking 30 minutes a day.

You can win this fight and be healthier.  You can beat Prediabetes.  Fight it.  Any Diabetic will tell you that you do not want the disease.  Fight it and get your victory.  And, if you have not had an A1c test, get one.  Talk with your doctor about it; doctors love patients who are engaged in their own health.

As always, thank you for reading.  Your success is not only possible, it’s probable.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Prediabetes
2 comments on “The Frontline of the War On Diabetes
  1. Bridget29 says:

    Great post, I just wanted to say something about Prediabetes. About 6 years ago, when I had bloodwork done, my blood glucose came back over 100. I can’t recall the exact number, but I know it was over 100. I was just 10 years old at that time, so you can imagine how scared I was when my mother told me I could get diabetes. I used to eat a lot of sugar, all I ate was sugar and ocassional carbs. I don’t remember doing anything about it at that time, but I recently got tested again. My fear of being diabetic was just eating me up, so I had to find out. Being diagnosed with Celiac disease as well scared me even more, since they are kind of connected to each other. Fortunately, my blood glucose was between 75-85, and I had tested more than 3 times. Since then, I have become aware of this condition and therefore I am trying to adopt a healthier lifestyle to prevent diabetes.

    • Bridget,

      Thank you for your kind comment. It’s hard when you are young to think that things might happen, but they do. Smart to start a healthy lifestyle early; and very smart to be afraid of Diabetes.

      Please come back anytime!

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

