Progress Report – Part Four

progress

I’ve spent the last week watching my diet, exercising regularly (walking and a bit of resistance training), and using the food diary.  There wasn’t much change in my readings.  I should remind you that I reduced the Metformin to 750 mg from the 1000 I was taking.  For months – perhaps a bit more than a year before that, I was taking 1250 mg.

No change…that was kind of a big deal to me.  Reduce the Metformin and no change…kind of encouraging to me.  Then I spoke with Katherine, our friendly pharmacist.  After quizzing me about my dosages, she informed me that studies have shown the smallest effective dose of Metformin is 1500 mg.   She asked how long I had been taking less than 1500 mg. and I told her for over a year.  Then, she said,

“So, you have essentially been off Metformin for over a year.”

It took a moment for me to understand what she was telling me…and then I began to cry. I am tearing even now as I write these words.  I didn’t think I would have this reaction.  I was just treating getting off of Metformin as a goal; I never thought about the freedom it would bring…or the sense of relief.

Do I sound silly?  Too emotional?  I don’t know.  I found out that I have been managing and controlling Diabetes without effective med doses for a while.  But to be told that I have been doing that by a health care professional – well, I can’t quite describe it.  I won’t even try.

I got up today and did not take any Metformin.  When I checked my glucose before dinner I got an 85 – exactly what I expected when taking Metformin.  I will check it in another 30 or 45 minutes and let you know what it says.  I have to wait due to exercising.  Just took it – an 82.

Does this mean I am not a Diabetic?  No.  I am and always will be a Diabetic.  If I don’t watch my diet and exercise, I will be back on the meds – and I don’t want that to happen.  Have I won my War On Diabetes?  Well, yes, I think so since I will be able to control it through diet and exercise – as I have been doing unknowingly for months.

I made an appointment today to see my doctor at the end of May and will get an A1c test before seeing him.  I also left him a message that I had stopped taking Metformin.  You know, he’s kind of tricky – he knew what my Metformin dose was when he suggested it was time to get off of the med.  He knew it was not an effective dose, but he didn’t tell me that – he just took my promise to be off of Metformin within three months. He knew I had to make the decision since he knew how afraid I am of Diabetes.  It’s kind of like when he told me I had to “lose a little weight” when I was first diagnosed. Good thing he didn’t tell me I should lose 60 pounds.  To date I have lost 62 pounds.

Are you winning your War?  Are you controlling your Diabetes?  Your goal might just be to control it with meds – which is fine.  You might not have the option to be off of meds, so take the steps you need to in order to take the lowest possible dose and remain in control.

You can do this.  You can control your Diabetes.  You can win the War On Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.  I truly appreciate it.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!
5 comments on “Progress Report – Part Four
  1. YOU DID IT! YOU DID IT!.. I am so happy for you… If you can do it so can I!!!

    • Shell,

      Your words of encouragement have always been so great to read – thank you for them. And, of course you can do it – not a doubt in my brain. It’s a matter of when, not if. What can I do to help?

      Phil

  2. I think I am pretty right Phil… Just having friends to encourage really helps- My next visit to the doc will be a good one and see myself off my diabetic meds.. Will let you know how I go…

    • Shel,

      Please keep me informed. It’s not easy going away from the meds. If it were, everyone would do it! But, it can be done and the boost to self-confidence is amazing. Think about it. You fought a disease;one that eats you from the inside; one that can be devastating – and you won! Just think about what else you can do! Nothing can stand in your way.

      You can do it!

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

