Progress Update – Part Three, I Think

progress

Okay, I’ve been at it for a couple of weeks now.  I believe it’s three weeks so this is the Third Progress Update.  I promised I would keep you informed as I worked to get off of Metformin.  Why?  I am taking the challenge my doctor gave me to get off of meds very seriously.  You can read more about that and my thoughts here.   The bottom line is that I promised my doctor I would really try during the next three months to get off of Metformin.  I just read the last sentence – I sound like a junkie.

Yes, I am scared about facing Diabetes without Metformin.  But, I have come to realize that for me…for me…it’s a bit of a crutch.  It allows me to eat a bit extra now and then.  Without it, I have to change my diet a bit here and there.  And…oh, yes, there’s an and…I have to change my exercise a bit.

Here I am in Week Three and I have been taking my 30 minute walks (actually 27 min and 30 seconds give or take a few seconds) and doing some resistance training.  I’ve made some minor changes to my diet.  More raw veggies and a bit fewer carbs.  Maintaining a Food Diary.  So, I am doing everything I have written about.  The result?

Two pounds lost in the three weeks.  When I started Metformin dosage was at 500 mg in the morning and 750 in the evening.  Last week I lowered it to 500 and 500 with no appreciable change in my glucose readings.  What are they?  Well, the week averaged out at 87, but I think my meter reads a bit low – like 7 to 10 points low.  But, that is just a suspicion of mine.

Today I took my dosage down again.  Morning is now 250 and evening is 500.  When I looked at my glucose this evening before dinner, I was at 78 – again, please remember that I think it reads slightly low.

So far – Success.  I know 750 mg of Metformin is not much each day, but going without it is something I have to ease in to.  Why?  Because it took me about a year to get it under control with Metformin and I never want to be out of control again.  I will stay like this for about a week to see what happens and then maybe go for another reduction in Metformin.

Keep your fingers crossed!

This is my War On Diabetes.  Each of us has our own War.  Diabetes is a very personal disease and you may well be in a different place.  The first goal in fighting your War is to get Diabetes under control.  What does that mean?  Well, according to the ADA, get your A1c to 7.0, or less.  For a lot of you, including me, that meant taking medication.  Then tune your diet and exercise to continue to lower your A1c.

The most amazing thing will happen: You will feel healthier!  Yes, you will have a disease (You will always have Diabetes), but you will feel healthy and your body will be working well.  Heck, you might have even lost a little weight.  Remember, I have lost weight; now it’s about 62 pounds lost.  Just think, by controlling Diabetes, you might be the healthiest you have been in years.  Wouldn’t that be great?!

Go on, fight Your War On Diabetes.  You can win.  You can control it.  And, when you do, remember that you are controlling the disease that is listed as the 7th Leading Cause of Death in the US.  Not too shabby!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Uncategorized
One comment on “Progress Update – Part Three, I Think
  1. Your doing so well Phil!.. Way to go!.. You can DO this!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

