The First Time

Believe

Today at 6:15 pm was my first time.  I am going to mark the calendar.  If I had fireworks, I would light them.  Today was a red letter day…a day with a capital ‘D.’  Isn’t the first time always a momentous occasion?

Today at 6:15 pm was the first time I actually believed I could live my life med free.  For the past couple of weeks I was just working on it because I promised my doctor I would.  I promised him that I would be off my Metformin in three months.  I thought I could do it.  I made a plan on how to do it.  But I really didn’t believe I could do it.

So, what happened to make me believe?  I had a few more (a lot more) carbs in my lunch than I had planned.  My usual lunch would be about 40 or 45 carbs.  I know that sounds like a lot to some of you, but I used to eat three times that many.  Anyway, I exceeded my carb count because I had a larger portion than normal for me.  I spent the afternoon being a bit worried knowing that when I got home and tested, I would see really bad news.

I expected to see between 100 and 110 for my pre-dinner reading.  I prepared myself to see it.  I felt so dumb.  I felt like I deserved whatever I saw.  I got home.  Started dinner.  Then took my reading.  69.  Need to see that again?  69.  Okay, I know my meter reads about 10 to 15 points low, but the reality is that I was exactly where I wanted to be.  And, it was at that moment I truly believed I would be off all of my meds.  Off the Metformin.  Off the Lipitor.  Off the ACE Inhibitor.

Why did my number come in low?  My best guess is because I changed my exercise a bit.  I added resistance training and it is working.  I have no other reason and have made no other changes.  Heck, even though I had more carbs than I should have had at lunch, I still had a small afternoon snack – remember, I eat according to the time, so when it was snack time, I ate.

Now, I will become a bit more aggressive in getting off the meds.  Next week I will reduce the Metformin by 25%.  Yes, I am still going to take a planned step-down approach because I am a bit anal.  But I now know it will be successful.  I believe.

I remember the moment when I believed I could control Diabetes.  It was after taking an evening reading and seeing that it was under 150 for the first time.  I started at about 300.  So, I was making progress.  I was doing everything I was told to do; the same things I emphasize here – Diet, Exercise and Meds.  When I saw that I was under 150 I knew…I believed…that I was going to control my Diabetes.

Do you believe?  Do you believe that you can control your Diabetes?  You might know you can, but until you truly believe control might be illusive.

When belief meets action success is inevitable.  Take action today to control your Diabetes.  Know you can control it.  And, one day you will believe…then watch out…success will come.  You know what to do.  Diet.  Exercise. Meds.

As always, thank you for reading.  I believe in you.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!
4 comments on “The First Time
  1. Such fantastic News! Congrats Phil! You can do this I know you can…

  2. Kathy J says:

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

