Progress Update

progress

 

It’s just about time for the weekly progress report on the challenge my doctor gave me to get off of meds.  He took me by surprise when he said it was time to consider taking me off of meds to control my glucose during my last appointment.

First, I was taken by surprise when he said that.  No, the better words would be shocked and scared. My A1c was 6.1 and has been in that area for the last two years, or so.  I had already reduced my meds and he knew that, but now he was talking about taking me off of meds period.  I thought I would need to be at 5.5 before he would entertain such a thought.  I like my Metformin.

Well, I like the safety net Metformin gives me.

So, how am I doing?  Not bad.  My average glucose reading for the last seven days has been 88 – I just looked.  I take readings several times a day: morning, before lunch when possible, before dinner, two hours or so after dinner, and then again before bed.  The minimum number I take is three; the maximum readings I get is five.  Please keep in mind I think my meter reads a bit low – five to ten points low.

During the last week I have added resistance work to my exercise.  A full exercise day – and there are three of them – is walking and resistance work.  I use resistance work the other three days.  I got very lucky and was given a Bowflex machine by my neighbor and that is what I use for resistance.  A full exercise day means about 50 minutes spent at it; just resistance work means a bit less than 25 minutes.

I have not made any diet changes – yet.  I know they are coming soon and may start as early as next week; well, this week, actually.  Little changes like reducing the number of carbs I eat by about 10 to 15%.  While that might not sound like a lot, it means giving up something and I am not quite sure where I will take them from.  Maybe dinner?  That might work as I think about it.

So, if I reduce the carbs and maintain exercise, I should reduce my weekly glucose reading average by something.  If I see that happen, I will reduce my meds by 25%.

Currently, I am taking 500 mg Metformin in the morning and evening.

I am going to win MY War On Diabetes…even though I am a bit scared at this point.  Being off of meds means I do it all with diet and exercise – it’s all in my hands.

And, even though I am a bit scared, I am thankful for a doctor who believes in using the least amount of medicine possible; one who is in my mind aggressive at it.  I know he could have prescribed name brand meds for me and got me down to an A1c of 5.2 or 5.3, but I would not have learned the discipline of the exercise and diet.  I would not be willing to take on the challenge he gave me.

I will win; and you will be able to read about it here.  If I can win, so can You.  It does not matter if your battle is with Diabetes or Prediabetes.  Once I am successful, and make no mistake about it, I will be successful – You will know you can win Your war whether it’s to lower your A1c to under 7.0; to lose weight; to change your diet; or, to control your Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

