In which I want to eat, but am not hungry…

365194579_snacks1_xlarge

See something there you like? I do – but that’s not the topic, today!

It was 2:00 pm.  I had eaten at about 12:30 – slightly later than normal.  The Sun was out and it was about 70 degrees – a typical Southern California Winter’s day.  (Yes, 70 degrees does exist just in case some of you in the colder climes have forgotten.)  As I was saying – it was just a normal day.

And then…right about 2:00, I wanted to eat. The feeling was kind of strange.  It wasn’t time for me to eat – remember I eat by the time of day to help control my intake.  I tried to concentrate on what I was doing, but could not shake the idea I just wanted to eat.  If I decided to eat, I wouldn’t have anything for a snack and sooner or later it would effect my glucose level.

I wan’t hungry.  I just wanted to eat.  A very, very strange feeling for me.  Does this ever happen to you?  Please don’t tell me I am the only one in the Universe this has happened to.  Okay, I know that’s not quite true because before I was diagnosed as a Diabetic, I would have eaten and not given it a thought.  Of course, I was 60 pounds heavier then, too.

So, I sat at my desk wondering why I wanted something to eat.  Notice, I did not get anything to eat immediately.  I was wondering why I wanted to eat.

Was it my environment?  Was there something going on that made me want to eat?  I was in the office at my desk.  Nothing different there.  The same people were present.  There was no discussion about food.  No cues to eat. None.

Could it be a bit of stress?  Well, I was at work and there is an extra level of stress.  Maybe that was it.  I am not entirely sure.  If it was stress, it will return tomorrow and the next day and the next day – I think.  The stress is not going away any time soon and has been around for a couple of months.

Was there any food around?  Well, somebody was taking a late lunch at their desk so I heard the sounds of eating and was able to smell the food. Are you saying, “Aha!?”  But that’s not unusual.  She always takes a late lunch.

Maybe I just wanted something in my mouth?  I won’t even get into that one.  Except to say I rejected that one, too.

So, what did I end up doing?  Well, I had a very, very small snack – so I did eat a little something.  Thought about what I had for lunch – which was just a tiny bit less than I usually have – and decided that might be the reason and will make a small adjustment tomorrow.

What I did not do was just eat something.  I thought about it.  And, as Diabetics we need to think about what we eat, when we eat it, and in some cases why we eat it.  This is kind of automatically done when we keep a food diary.  But, since this happened once, I am going to see if it happens again.  If not – no worries.  If I do feel like eating but am not hungry again, it’s probably time for me to look at my food diary more closely.  I know, so many uses for the food diary!

I have an idea that I will come back to this topic at least another time to two.  It’s important to know why we want to eat when we aren’t hungry – and not to give in if we want to control Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.  Today is going to be a great day!

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

