My Most Important Post

United_Ag_Diabetes2b

During the last few months I have written posts that I thought were important.  But none have been as important as this one.

As you may know, I have declared War on Diabetes.  That was not a symbolic gesture.  That was the first step in a larger plan to actually eradicate Diabetes.  I continue to find facts that just make me a bit nuts and my frustration levels with the current methods to battle Diabetes continues to grow.

In the past I would have been content to let the “professionals” fight the battle.  They have knowledge, experience and money, so they should be able to fight Diabetes most effectively.  Well, in my opinion, that is not happening.  It’s been too well documented that Diabetes, and especially Type 2 Diabetes, is growing very quickly by about 1,700,000 million new Diabetics in the United States alone.  There are 23,800,000 new Diabetics in the world each year.

Based on the number of new Diabetics the status quo is not doing a good enough job of eliminating the disease – good grief, it’s growing!  How many people will Diabetes have to kill to make things begin to happen?  In the United States there are about 235,000 deaths each year from Diabetes (based on 2007 numbers); in the world, according to the World Health Organization there are about 3,400,000 deaths from Diabetes each year (based on 2004 numbers).

When is enough, enough?

Well, I have had enough.  As a result, I am in the process of creating a non-profit with the goal of eradicating Diabetes.  The War On Diabetes will have as its goals:

  • Education and awareness training on Diabetes and Prediabates
  • Making A1c testing more available in more convenient locations
  • Providing information and programs so those with Prediabetes can reverse the condition or postpone the onset of Diabetes
  • Partner with the best already developed programs and bring them to folks 
  • Partner with local organizations so care and follow-up can be provided
  • Connect those already diagnosed with Diabetes in order to create formal and informal support groups; Diabetes is a lonely disease.

I know I seek to do a lot and have sought the advice and counsel of others before making this step.  People who know me intimately, and who would tell me the truth, unanimously told me to “go for it.”  This is not just a fight for you; it’s a fight for your children and your grandchildren.  It’s the fight of a generation and for a generations to come.

The first step is to get non-profit status.  Please go to War On Diabetes and help in anyway you can.  I don’t need a lot of money, just a bit to get started.  It’s just been posted in the last few days and this is my first announcement. I’d like to raise the money within the next two weeks.  Nobody knows the seriousness of Diabetes like you do – and how it can effect lives.

I not only need money, I need help in the areas of Publicity/Marketing (this is the most important marketing problem facing health today); CPA to help me set-up appropriate ‘books;’ bloggers who will contribute to the WarOnDiabetes.org (yes, it’s registered) site; and things I can’t even think of right now.  If you have a bit of time, let me know.  Together we can make changes.  You can reach me through email by using the form below.

Please share this posting.  I need your assistance to make this happen.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

