Changes…Changes…Changes…We Live Life of Changes

Change

Today is Day One for me.  Day One of about a 40 Day Plan to go off meds.  No, I have not gone nuts.  I still believe the way to control Diabetes is with Diet, Exercise and Meds.  But, my doctor suggested to me after reviewing the recent results from my lab work that it was time to consider going off of meds.

I was, and am scared.  But, I made a promise to him that over the next 90 days reduce and get off meds if at all possible.  I just don’t think I can do it ‘cold turkey.’  (I wonder, can you be addicted to Metformin?)

I know where my fear comes from.  I have Diabetes under pretty tight control, but it takes a bit of Metformin to do it.  Metformin allows me to have a few carbs here and there; it allows me to have a table spoon of ice cream every couple of months.  Metformin just gives me a bit of freedom in diet.  Am I willing to give up that freedom?

I’ve taken a week to think about it.  And, yeah, I am willing to give up a bit of freedom if it means I am off of meds.  Think about it: I take a med to make sure the Metformin doesn’t mess with my kidneys or liver.  So, it can’t be that great to be taking each day.

And, while I still walk my 30 minutes, I knew I would have to commit to a different kind of exercise, but I still wanted to keep it in the 30 minute window.  I know resistance training – using weights – is the best exercise I can do for Diabetes, but I did not have any weights.  Enter my neighbors who gave me a Bowflex machine last week they were not using.  Scratch my excuse.

So, today was the big day.  Yesterday I cleaned out the garage and moved the Bowflex in.  I found a user guide and printed it.  Organized my exercises to follow one of their routines…and I began.  Okay, it took me longer than 30 minutes this time, but I will get it down to 30 minutes, I think.

Am I sore?  A little.  I just wanted to get the idea of how the machine worked and felt.  Next time I will still be doing the same thing.

I will walk on the days I don’t use the Bowflex machine.  Although it ‘s supposed to be raining here tomorrow, so I might use the rowing function instead of walking.

I am making a few changes to my diet – not many.  And, will let you know what happens.  The biggest change is a small reduction in the amount of carbs I eat.  Right now I am around 45 carbs per meal; I am going to reduce it to 40, or so.  But, after I see what the Bowflex gives me in my readings.  Wait – it’s time to take one now…And the meter says 104.  2.5 hours after I began to eat.  45 minutes after finishing my first Bowflex.

I am writing about this because I believe you can do it, too.  You can control your Diabetes.  Being off of meds might not be a goal – right now.  Maybe just getting a number under 7.0 on your A1c test is the goal.  I remember that time so clearly.  The point is, set a realistic control goal.  Figure out what you need to do to make it happen.  And, do it.

It’s your life we are talking about here.  Why wouldn’t you do something about the disease you have?  If you had cancer, you’d do something if you could.  If you had heart disease, you’d do something about it.  (By the way, a lot of Diabetics have heart disease – not a big surprise, there.)

You have Diabetes and it can be controlled…You can do it.

As always, thank you for reading

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

