Doctor’s Visit

Drs Appt

The Day arrived.  It was here.  I was a bit nervous.  Why?  Well, it was my visit to see my doctor after a decent blood work-up.  I would find out exactly how I was doing.  As that sucker (phlebotomist) said as she took my blood, “Blood does not lie.”

But, it was just not about my blood – although that was a big part of it.  It was my weight, too.  It was the validation of everything I have been writing about for the past months.  Was I going to meet the goals my doctor and I had set?  Even though I had found out what my A1c was, there were other numbers that are just about as important like cholesterol, kidney functions, etc.  I wanted to do well, bit would I?

I learned a few years ago the best appointments to have were either the first in the morning or the first one after lunch.  Today I was to be at my doctor’s office at 8:30 – and I was 10 minutes early.  Paid my co-pay and then waited about 3 minutes before being called in.  First stop – the scale.

Now, I knew my scale was off at home by about 10 pounds.  It always shows me to be 10 pounds lighter than I really am.  But what if it were off by more than that suddenly?  I thought I knew where I should come in, so taking a deep breath, letting it out and getting on the scale I waited as the numbers went up…and up…and up until stopping.  What did it read?  I was fully clothed – okay, I took off my jacket.  The numbers stopped at 185.3.

185.3!  As recent as 3 months ago I was 193.  That’s almost 8 pounds that came off in the last three months.  Do you know how long I have been battling those pounds?  The better part of two years!  It took so long for me to lose them, that my doctor had decided they were okay.  He subtracts four or five pounds for clothing.  Even subtracting two pounds, I am no longer over-weight.  I just about cried.

How did that happen?  Diet and exercise.  And, by now you know I spend 30 minutes or slightly less on exercise.  It works.  What I have written about  for these past months has been validated through personal experience.

Folks, if I can do it, so can you.  We are in a war with Diabetes.  One of the best things we can do in that war is to get our weight where it should be in terms of our BMI’s.  I am now at 24.9.  You can be there.  What does it take?  Patience and persistence.  You can win.  You can.  It also works for those with Prediabetes…lose that weight.  Even as little as ten pounds can make a difference in your war; it can mean the difference between victory and getting Diabetes.

I won’t bore you with the actual numbers, but all of my other numbers were in line with where he wanted them to be – they were ‘normal.’  And, even though my A1c was 6.1, he said it was too low for me to be considered a Diabetic.  I started laughing at him and said, “Doc, I am a Diabetic and will be the rest of my life.”

His response?  Tune in tomorrow to find out the new challenge he gave me.

As always, thank you for reading.  Please remember that you can win in YOUR WAR with Diabetes when you combine Diet, Exercise and Meds.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

