It Happens!

 

It HappensI have heard for years that as you eat less, your stomach shrinks.  The result?  You don’t have to eat as much to satisfy your hunger and miracle of miracles, you lose weight.  You’ve heard it, too.  I’ve written about it in one of my posts.

Well, the truth is it happens!  Or, to be more specific, it happened to me.  But, it wasn’t just like I read or heard about.  Let me tell you about my weight loss journey.

When I was diagnosed you know I had an A1c of about 13.0.  The truth is I can’t remember if it was 12.9 or 13.0.  Whichever it was, it was really high.  My weight was about 245 and might have been as high as 250 pounds.  To put it in perspective of a BMI – Body Mass Index – I was around 33.5.  Again, pretty high.  I was obese.  My doctor told me I had to “lose a little weight.”  God bless him that he did not tell me how much.

So, to get the Diabetes under control, and lose weight, I went on a lower carb diet.  My guidelines were about 60 carbs per meal and 15 carbs per snack.  Before being diagnosed with Diabetes, a common meal for me was about 100 to 125 carbs.  Way, way too many!  Do you think reducing carb intake by 50% was easy?  Do you think I was hungry after every meal?

Let me tell you about it.  It was not incredibly hard to reduce the carb intake.  I just started eating different foods.  But, I hated being a bit hungry when I finished eating.  I looked around for something more to eat after almost every meal.  What stopped me from eating more?

Well, first I was scared of Diabetes – and still am scared of the complications since I know more about them.  Second, I found if I just waited ten minutes my hunger was satisfied.  And, when that didn’t work, I’d play a game with myself – to just go 30 more minutes without eating.  And then I’d go another 30 minutes…and another until it was time for me to be able to have a snack.

For me – that worked.  And along the way I lost 50 to 55 pounds over about nine months by eating less and walking 30 minutes a day.  Eat less and exercise a little.  That’s my big weight loss secret!  And in the process, my stomach shrunk!

As I have worked to lose the last five or ten pounds – the most stubborn pounds – I have found that my stomach actually has shrunk.  It takes about 1/3 of the food I used to eat to make me feel satisfied.  One-third!  About 45 or 50 carbs per meal is all I eat, now.  I know there are those who consume fewer carbs, but my doctor tells me as long as my A1c is under control – I might as well enjoy life.

To put my present consumption in perspective of what I used to eat: I now eat in all meals in a day combined what I might have eaten for lunch alone before Diabetes.  And, I feel great!

You know, if I can do it, so can you.  If you need to lose weight, be patient and consistent.  It will come off.  And, your stomach will shrink – It Happens!

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

