Home A1c Test – Follow-up

Bayer A1c

I had my A1c test last weekend and I told you I would let you know the results so the comparison could be made to the Bayer Home A1c Test.  Like you, I wonder just how accurate they are.

So, they sucked my blood out.  Well, actually they used a small needle…You know what they do.  Anyway, I called the doctor’s office and asked about my A1c number.  Of course, I am depending on the nurse to give me the right information and being able to read the report correctly.  I was told it was 6.1.  I found myself to be disappointed.  I thought it would be about 5.8 or 5.9.  Something under 6.0.  The Home A1c test gave me a 5.6.  So, for me at this moment, the Home test was not real accurate.  But, I will still use it when I am between tests just to see where I might be.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with a 6.1.  My doctor is going to be happy.  And, I am okay with it – but just okay.  My goal for the next test is 5.8.  I know what to do to hit it.  So do you.  Exercise. Diet. Meds.  I just have to make a few changes to my exercise.  A few less carbs.  More fresh vegetables.  Just a few little changes.

My goal is just that – MY goal.  It shouldn’t be your goal.  You could well be in a very different place.  Maybe your goal is 7.0 (mine was at one time).  Or. 6.5.  Whatever it is, it’s important to make a realistic goal for your A1c along with your doctor – and work toward it.  I started at 13.0 – which is very high.  Do you think I brought it down to even 8.0 in thirty days?  I don’t think so!  It took months and changing meds several times for me to get it under any kind of control.  Now, as you may know, I take Metformin – 500 mg in the morning and 750 mg at night.  (Yes, I cut pills.)

I just noticed I got a bit off track.  This was supposed to be about the accuracy of the Home A1c Test.  I did not find it to be very accurate, but it is real convenient.  Although, I have read many reviews that state it’s normally much closer than my experience would indicate.  My advice is to use it, but it should not take the place of regular lab work.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Meds and More!

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

