App That Helps with Menu Choices!

Going out to eat with Diabetes (such a wonderful date!) is a bit of a pain, isn’t it? What can I eat?  What are the calories?  The carbs?  What can I have that won’t kill my diet and show up in my next glucose reading?  I have and it’s why I stick with things that work for me, but it does get a bit boring.

But, now I can try new foods.  Why?  Because I found an app.  Yep – an app that gives me calorie and carb counts and nutritional information for menu items right on the iPhone.  Right now they seem to show mostly national chains – and I can live with that – it’s at least a starting point.

The name of the app?  HealthyOut and I found it only on the iPhone.  You can read more about the app here.

Healthy out

The app will ask you what kind of a diet you are on and then find appropriate menu selections at restaurants in your immediate area.  Or, you can choose to search by restaurant and it will show you the close restaurants that they have in their database.  Tap the name of the restaurant and you will then see selections from the menu that fit your diet.  Tap on a specific item and you will see nutritional information, plus suggestions on how to make it healthier.

It’s easy.  Fast.  And, I know I am going to use it.  In fact, I looked up one of my favorite foods – fish tacos at a place called Wahoo’s.  Wow! No wonder I see a little bump in my readings when I eat them.  Two tacos have 43 carbs.  Add some black beans and I can easily go over the amount of carbs I should have.  I had no idea until I looked them up.  In less than five minutes I learned something.

Is it perfect? No.  But, it’s a great start and I hope it will only get better.

And, did I tell you it was free?  Yep, FREE.  I will try and watch for it on Android.  If you see it, please let me know.  Or, if you know of a similar app on Android, please tell me.

As always, thank you for reading!

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

