I Really Don’t Want To…

I don't want to 2

That really says it all.  Ever feel that way?

I did not want to stick to my diet tonight.  I did not want to exercise.  I did not want to think about Diabetes tonight.  I did not want to stick my finger.  Nothing to do with it.  I mean, it’s probably going to be with me for my entire life, what’s one night?

Ever feel like that?  I did tonight…a strong dose of self-pity.  I was the victim.  Why did I have Diabetes?  Why would anyone ever choose to be a Diabetic?  Why would anyone ever choose to take meds, if they didn’t need to?  And, yet, every person who has Prediabetes and does nothing about it is making that choice.  But, that’s another post.

So, what did I do?  Well, to put it bluntly I did nothing.  I had a bit extra at dinner, although I did not stray too far from my diet.  It’s really ingrained in me, now.  It’s how I eat.  It’s the amount I eat.  So, I really couldn’t screw that up very much.  That realization was kind of discouraging to me.  I have trained myself too well.

Ahhh, but, I did not exercise.  I convinced myself it was too cold outside.  Too dark.  Too…well, too everything.  That took – I did not get my rear out.  But, then I checked my blood sugar a little over 2 hours after eating;  I really didn’t like the number I saw.  Again, habit.  And, again, habit took over when I did a few leg lifts and push-ups – 45 of each.  That took me about five of six minutes.  I checked my blood sugar a bit later.  Much better.

This is my life if I want to control a disease.  Diet.  Exercise. Meds.  I would not wish it on anyone.  Although, when I am not drowning in self-pit, I know we are lucky.  Diabetes can be managed; so many other diseases cannot be managed.  We can choose to control our disease.  We can choose to conquer it.  We can master it.  After a while it becomes habit, like I found out tonight.  And, sometimes, you just have to suck it up.

You can do it.  You can win the fight.  You can take those steps that will lead to victory over Diabetes.  If you haven’t, make the decision today that you will no longer be a victim.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

