There’s A First Time for Everything…Great Recipe!

Good Eats

I have never shared a recipe here.  Yes, I have seen them, but I haven’t taken the time to test any.  So, if I am sharing one, you know it it’s been real-world tested and has to be good from all aspects – at least in my opinion.  Great presentation.  Excellent taste.  Wonderful numbers (calories, carbs and glucose reading).

I love pasta.  That’s just a fact of life.  But, as with so many things I like (fried chicken, biscuits, cookies, pie…oh, the list is endless sometimes), I don’t get to eat it very often.  It’s a decision that I made to help control my Diabetes.  Tonight, though…tonight I got to have pasta because I came across a recipe by complete accident and decided to give it a try.

It was great.  Easy to fix.  Fresh ingredients.  Great presentation.  And, it smelled so goooood!  Low carb (24 per serving) and low cal (195 per serving).  Does it get any better than that?  I don’t think so!  So, I thought I would share it with you.

By the way, I don’t take other folks’ word for anything if I am going to write about it here.  I have to have personal experience with it. I tested glucose levels two hours after beginning to eat.  The number was good – 108 – pretty much what I expect most nights.

The complete dinner was the pasta dish, raw broccoli (or you could have a salad) and iced tea.  A simple, very tasty meal, and there were left-overs!  Remember, portion control is very important as you work to control Diabetes.  (I say that because I could just eat and eat this dish.)

Easy Skillet Penne Pasta

At a Glance:

Prep Time:
10 minutes
Cook Time:
15 minutes
Servings: 4 

Ingredients:

1 cup (3 oz.) multigrain or whole wheat penne pasta
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup chopped sweet or yellow onion
1 yellow or red bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 (14.5 oz.) Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, undrained
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
1 cup Lindsay® Recloseables Italian Seasoned Olives or California Pitted Ripe Olives
1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley or basil

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions omitting salt. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large deep skillet over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper and garlic; sauté 5 minutes. Add tomatoes and, if desired, pepper flakes; bring to a simmer. Stir in olives; simmer over low heat 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally.

Drain pasta; stir into olive mixture; simmer 1 minute. Top with parsley.

Nutrients Per Serving:

Calories: 195
Calories from fat: 81
Total fat: 9g
Monounsaturated fat: 6g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 428mg
Total Carbohydrates: 24g
Dietary fiber: 3g
Protein: 5g

I decided you should be able to see the entire recipe – it comes from the Lindsay Olives site.  No wonder olives are included!

Just a note – it actually took me 30 minutes to do the first time.  There were a couple of reasons for this and I am sure it will take less than 25 minutes the next time I make it.  Please feel free to pass it on.

Enjoy!  And, as always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
2 comments on “There’s A First Time for Everything…Great Recipe!
  1. audrey ashmore says:

    Sounds so good, I too will try the same. Larry has type 2 Diabetes. Your right about the portions, that is one of the biggest things people with Diabetes don’t watch.
    Audrey

    • Audrey! I just smiled when I saw your name. Portion control has been so important to control of my weight…and Diabetes. By the way, the dish is even good for left-overs! Thinking about it for next Christmas dinner…don’t laugh, I plan ahead sometimes. I am going to look for more recipes that make sense for Diabetics. Not only that taste good, but have good numbers.

      Phil

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

