This and That…

This and than round

There were several things that I have seen recently that I thought you might be interested in.  So, in no particular order here is a little of This and That.

This is the time for weight loss resolutions.  Just about every list I have seen has some form of “lose a little weight” on it.  One of the most basic steps to losing weight is eating less; using portion control.  Paula Deen, the woman who has brought Southern food – and a lot of it – to the world, is a diabetic who has lost 36 pounds.  One of the key ingredients to her weight loss has been, yes – you guessed it: portion control.  Read about it here…you might find it to be very interesting and inspiring.

*****

If you are going to be successful in your fight with Diabetes or Prediabetes, you will have to probably change the way you do things.  You might have to eat differently.  You might have to exercise; or, start to exercise.  You might have to just approach life just a little differently.  Psychologists call this Behavior Modification.  That just a clinical way of describing change.  But, it’s important in how you approach change because if you don’t understand how to modify your behavior, it might take longer to be successful.

I recently came across the Behavior Diabetes Institue.  Dr. William Polonsky is doing some great work in helping diabetics deal with…well with being diabetics.  I know I have simplified that a great deal, but you really need to take a look at what the BDI is doing.  There are a couple of things you should read from the BDI that might really assist you or a friend.  One is for when someone is first diagnosed and how to deal with it.  This little booklet identifies the kinds of emotions a lot of folks feel and provides suggestions for dealing with them.

Ten Things You Should Know” is good for diabetics at any point in their battle with Diabetes.  It can be fresh information for some; and, for others it might be a review.  Do you know anyone who might be able to use a bit of encouragement or who is feeling discouraged?  Pass this booklet on to them and let them know the BDI exists.  You will really be helping them.

*****

I made it through the holidays okay.  No big eating.  Stuck pretty close to my diet. No real challenges I am glad to say.  Okay, it was re-enforced that I cannot eat any kind of pie, but that’s okay.  What has hit me is my eating schedule has been interrupted because someone at work went on vacation so the time I eat lunch has changed by two hours – which is a lot.  I am eating my two snacks between breakfast and lunch – which are now separated by almost eight hours.  And, then dinner is just four hours after that.  Do you know what happens?  It seems to cause my numbers to go up.

I am not eating any extra or different foods; it’s just when I eat them has changed.  Eating by the clock, at regular times is important to my control of Diabetes – I had no idea it was as important as it is.  I just knew it worked for me.  This is the first time in three years, since I was diagnosed, that my eating times were significantly altered.  So, if you are eating by the clock, stick to it. Learn from my experience on this one.

‘Eating by the clock’ means you eat at the same times, more or less, each day.  Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner all are within a certain time period.  Snacks are eaten at certain times.  For me…and again I emphasize for me, Breakfast is between 5:30 and 6:00; Lunch is normally between 11:00 and 11:30; Dinner happens around 6:00.  Small snacks are at about 9:00 am; 2:30 to 3:00; and, about 8:30 pm – smalle snacks of 15 carbs or less.

Clearly I am looking forward to the person returning to work on Monday.

As always, thank you for reading.  You can beat Diabetes; I know it.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

