New Year…New You

New Year 2

The new year always seems to be a time for hope.  Hope for a better year than the one before.  Hope that your life, and the lives of loved ones will be a bit better.  Perhaps hope that money will be a little easier in the coming year.  And, hope that you will control and manage Diabetes.

The New Year is a time for resolutions – some that might impact and change your life and some that never quite seem to be kept.  But, there is one…just one that I would present for your consideration.  (Shades of Rod Serling!…am I dating myself?)

Resolve to conquer and control your Diabetes this year.  It will probably be with you for the rest of your life, so isn’t it time to get control of the disease?  Isn’t it time to just be angry that you have it and put it in its place?  You know you can do it.  You know how to do it.  You know the steps you have to take.  Take the first one, please.

Take the time to write it on a piece of paper and tape it to the mirror you look in every morning.

“Resolved: I will conquer and control Diabetes starting now.”

What steps do you need to take?  Do you need to start at the beginning?  Then, go back and look at The Survival Guide.  Read it.  Go through the links.  Print it out.  Print out several copies of the Food Diary.  This is a tool that was vital as I started my fight and one that I continue to use when I see glucose readings that don’t make immediate sense to me.

Make sure you take your meds – don’t miss a dose.  I know that’s hard.  It was hard for me to remember until I started using a seven day pill box.  For some reason, when I started using that box I have not missed a dose, and there is never a doubt as to whether or not I took them – I hated that doubt.  Best of all they are pretty cheap.  I got mine at the Container Store in their travel section.  $1.00 a box – so I picked one up for the morning and one for the evening.  Once each week, I load my meds into them.  Pretty easy.  It’s just a great way to make sure you get the meds you need to control your glucose.

Another step to conquering Diabetes – watch your diet.  I know we are coming off of Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Times where there is nothing but great food and a lot of sweet around – around everywhere at home and work.  It might have been a time when you had a few things that just blew your sugar a bit high.  It’s okay.  Take a breath.  It’s a New Year and a New You.

If you haven’t discovered what you can eat and what you need to avoid, now is the time to do it.  There are some basic guidelines, but each of us is different and that is where the Food Diary can really help you learn what you can eat.  You will get almost immediate fead back on what you ate when you record your glucose test.  If it’s where you want it, great.  If it’s a bit higher, then you know what you ate and you can make adjustments.

This is the year you conquer Diabetes!

Remember to exercise.  It doesn’t have to be a lot; it just has to be consistent.  Just 30 minutes a day – that’s all.  Take a walk. Ride a bike.  Do a few push-ups and sit-ups.  Lift light weights.  You can even do house work – making beds and vacuuming are great exercise.  Just do it – start moving.

My doctor tells me about one of his patients with Diabetes who started exercising very slowly.  When she started, she could not walk 40 feet without getting breathing hard.  About two years later she was walking three miles a day, has watched her diet, taken her meds…and is now off of all medication – all!  Will that happen for you or me?  I don’t know.  But, it could – and that is really exciting.

There is hope!  Resolve to conquer Diabetes and start taking those little steps to victory.  It’s not a sprint.  It’s a walk…everyday…one foot in front of the other.

As always, thank you for reading.  And, Happy New Year…Happy New You.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

