One of THOSE Days

Have you ever had one of those days when your time from eating to what you ate to bathroom breaks was controlled by someone else or a group?  You don’t want to make a big deal of your Diabetes.  In fact, most of the time you might wish people forgot about it.  Well, I had one of those days today.

A family theme park trip was on the agenda.  First time in many years I have been a guest at a theme park, but family time is worth it, right?  So, to insure a successful Diabetes day, I took a few minutes in the morning to make sure I had my basic meds and a couple of snacks with me and ready to go for the day.  A bit of planning – oh, like about one minute – can prevent catastrophe.  I also made sure I had breakfast – cannot forget that first meal – and took my morning meds.  So, I was as ready as I possibly could be for a day out with others.

I made sure I ate my snacks about when I was supposed to, which made it so much easier to resist all of those great sugar laden snacks around me.  I still follow a clock for eating (even have written about the importance of eating) meaning that I try to eat a little often.  But, okay, I will admit there was one sweet little thing…

Have you ever had a Holiday Beignet at one of the Disney Parks?  Soft, warm, sugary and oh so good.  But…and it’s a big but, not a Diabetic’s friend at all.  Okay, I will admit to having a small bite of one, but knocked off as much sugar as I could.  That caused my eldest son to say, “You’d think someone had Diabetes around here.”  Which caused me to start laughing and laughing and almost choked on the piece of beignet.

But, I digress.  The point is that you have to prepare for these days.  A little planning, preparation and smart eating will make the day go well for you.  The alternative is either to have so many sugar laden ‘treats’ that your blood sugar goes through the roof or paramedics are called because you allow your blood sugar to get too low.

I had my snacks.  Even had that piece of beignet.  Had a wonderful dinner with my family. And, when I got home and tested two hours and 10 minutes after starting dinner, I had a very low number – 83.  Of course, all that walking didn’t hurt, either.

So, you see, it does work.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

