The Midnight Battle

Midnight snacks.  Kind of a Love/Hate issue for me.  Do you have the same relationship with them?

A Midnight Snack – you know the time when you wake up at midnight, 1:00 or 2:00 in the morning and you are just soooo hungry – has proven to be the most difficult snack for me to either refuse or effectively moderate.  Normally I play enough little games with myself or can have just a bite of something and I will be just fine.  But not at Midnight.

Oh, I still have the presence of mind to not have a few cookies or a piece of pie or a full sandwich. Even so, that extra 15 carbs, or even 20, can be killer carbs for me.  And, they hit me in so many ways.  An extra pound or two.  A few extra points on my morning number.  I know the effect they have on me.

But, I get so hungry…or feel hungry, when it doesn’t make any sense for me to be hungry.  I know what to eat at night so I shouldn’t be hungry.  I know when to eat it.  I know I can eat about five carbs just before going to sleep and be just fine.  But, somehow at 1:00 in the morning everything looks so different to me.  I have to eat something or I can’t get back to sleep…or, so I think.

Look, I do know I really don’t have to eat.  I can turn over and go back to sleep – if I really think about it.  But at that time of the morning that is way too much work.  So, I give in about half of the time.  And what happens?

This morning happens.  My number is about 10 to 15 points higher than I want to see it.  Specifically, it was 97.  Now, I know there are those of you who would like, love to see that number in the morning.  For me, however, it’s a bit high.  Which brings up a good point to remember.

It’s your Diabetes. It doesn’t belong to anyone else.  It’s your body and your treatment.  What works for me may not work for you.  However, the Big Three – Exercise, Diet and Meds – should be part of everyone’s treatment.  The specifics might be a bit different for you.

Meanwhile, I will continue to do a little battle with my Midnight Snack.  It’s just that when you are half asleep it’s so hard to be disciplined, isn’t it?

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

