Candy, Cookies and Pie…OH MY!

That’s Rainbow Cookie Pie.  In one serving you have representatives from the candy, cookie and pie food groups.  You have to be impressed.

Yep, it’s that time of the year when it seems like everybody else gets to have the ‘good stuff.’  We are surrounded by cakes, cookies, pies, candy, candy and more candy.  Don’t they look good?  And, if you live with someone who bakes, doesn’t it smell great?  If you are like me…oh, no, I’m salivating now!

You know there are options, but I have not been one to want to have sugar free candy.  I mean, what’s the point?  Would I be fooling my taste buds? Probably not.  Could I talk myself into thinking it’s just like the ‘real thing?’  I don’t know.  Do you really think they make a sugar free Rainbow Cookie Pie?

I’ll tell you a little secret I discovered.  Just because something says ‘Sugar Free’ on the label, does not mean it’s low calorie – or even lower calorie.”  So, if you choose to have something sugar free, don’t assume you will be helping your diet.  In fact, you might even be adding to your weight instead of continuing to loose weight.  How discouraging would that be?

What?  Do you mean if I get something that is sugar free (or that famous “no added sugar”); and, have a sugar substitute of some sort, I get the same calories as if there were sugar in it?”  Uh, yeah.  It surprised me, too.  Which is why I just stay away from no sugar, low sugar, reduced sugar, etc.  If I want something sweet – I eat just a bite of something.

Did you see that?  A bite.  I have learned that just a little bit of something like a pie, is far more satisfying to me, than any amount of “no sugar” food.  A little bit.  What’s a little bit?  Well…a little bit is something like half of a fork-full.  A little bit is no more than 1/4 of a big cookie.  Just enough to get a taste.  And, I have to tell you that I have learned to savor that bit of pie or cookie.

Just to be clear – it’s a 1/4 of a big cookie; not 1/4 of a pie.  Okay?  Hey, don’t laugh.  I bet some folks might have read it the wrong way.

Remember, just because we are in the Holiday Season; Diabetes does not take the Holidays off; it never rests.  It’s always there trying to gain an advantage.  Please, don’t let it.  Please, even though it might be a bit more difficult, keep up the good fight.  Think about it.  If you can keep your numbers where they belong during the Holiday Season, you can do it any time.

You are tough – even though you might not feel it everyday.  You are tougher than Diabetes and you can win the fight; you can battle and manage the disease year round – 365 days a year.

I know you can control your Diabetes.

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

