Too Tired to Fight

Like all of you I get tired.  I get tired from work.  From the things I have to do at home.  From just about everything.  Sometimes my schedule feels so full there’s no time for anything – including fighting Diabetes.

I woke up yesterday not just tired, but weary.  Weary of just about everything.  Weariness that went bone deep.  I didn’t want to do anything.  I didn’t want to make decisions about family, work, food,  or meds or exercise.  I didn’t want to get my rear out of bed.  I didn’t want to have ‘my breakfast’ – I wanted doughnuts, french toast and syrup, pancakes, potatoes…I just wanted everything I have not had in several years.

So, what did I do?  I got up and put one foot in front of the other.  Took my shower.  Shaved.  Then breakfast.  So many things I wanted…and none of them in the house.  I ended up having a breakfast that was good for fighting Diabetes – mostly.  I pushed the carb count a bit.  Did I feel better for it?  No.  I knew it wasn’t quite right.  But, I did take my meds.  Tired.  Weary.  One foot in front of the other and somehow habit kicks in.

Habit?  Yes, habit.  It’s now habit for me to fight Diabetes.  It’s now habit for me to eat a certain way.  It’s now habit for me to take my meds.  All I had to do to fight, was put one foot in front of another and follow my habits.

When you are fighting Diabetes, it’s okay to be tired and weary.  It’s okay to just want to stay in bed and pull the covers up over your head.  But, at some point you will get up.  And, as you begin to put one foot in front of the other, habits will kick-in.

It’s okay to be tired of the fight sometimes.  And, it’s okay to be tired of taking meds.  And of eating a certain way.

It’s okay for warriors to be tired; it’s not okay to give-up.  The fight has to be taken to Diabetes everyday.  You can do it.  You can establish and follow habits until the fighting spirit kicks in; sooner or later it will.  And, until it does the habits you form and follow will keep you on the right track.

If you have not formed the habits that fight Diabetes, do so now.  Eat right.  Take your meds as prescribed.  Exercise.  Just do it and form the habits.  How long does it take to form habit?  About three weeks – 21 days.  You can do it for 21 days, right?  And then just continue your new habits.  Each day they become stronger and stronger, and you will need them when you just become tired because it’s habit that will continue the fight when you don’t want to.

I found that to be true yesterday.  You will find it to be true.  You can continue to fight Diabetes and win.  I know you can.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

