What Does He Know? Great Question

That is really a good question, and one you should be asking.  Just what do I know about battling Diabetes?  What do I know about controlling Diabetes?  I might just be repeating  things I read here and there on the Internet.  I might be just giving out information without any practical experience.  I might be…but am not.

It seemed to me that I have let you know what some of my numbers were and my current numbers in different posts, but never in one location.  So, it’s kind of hard for you to understand where I came from and where I am today.

I was diagnosed about three years ago.  I don’t have the date burned into my memory; I just know it was in October or November three years ago.  I am seeing my doctor next Monday and will ask him just so I know.  I was warned a few years before my diagnoses that I had Prediabetes, but was clueless as to what that really meant so I didn’t change a thing.  I was warned, just as many of you were.

As part of a routine physical my doctor had the standard blood work done.  I knew no news was good news.  But I received a phone call to come back and see him.  This could not be good – and I was right.  Of course, I gave myself cancer over and over, and when he came in to tell me I had Diabetes, I can tell you that my first thought was I can control this easily.  Again, Mr. Clueless, here.  However, I did know just enough to know there were some terrible possible consequences which I was going to avoid, if at all possible.

My doctor gave me a bit of a pep talk, told me to get out and walk 30 minutes a day, and gave me a prescription for Metformin.  He also made me see a dietician; and, told me to get another A1c test in 30 days.  I knew enough to make some immediate changes to diet and to begin to exercise.  If Diabetes could be beat, I was going to do it.

At diagnoses my A1c was 13.0.  To say that was high is an understatement.  I really think my Doctor did not give me an overwhelming chance of success.  My very first glucose reading was over 300.  My first question was, “Is that good?”  Was I clueless, or what?

A1c – 13.0.  Glucose – 300+.  That’s where I started.

And, from Day One I was out to beat it.  I had to lose a little weight – 65 or 70 pounds.  I had to change my diet.  I had to exercise, which for me consists mostly of walking.  And, I had to take my meds.

After 30 days my A1c was down to about 9.5.  It was coming down.  I was pretty happy with it.  Not the Doctor.  He switched me to Janumet.  I didn’t care about the cost, and money was tight then, but I knew I had to get it under control.  The goal for the A1c was 7.0 – at least that was my Doctor’s goal.

Sixty days and my A1c was down to about 7.5.  The exercise, change in diet and meds were all working.  I was also losing weight.  The Doctor reduced the Janumet.

At 120 days I was down to an A1c of 7.0.  More weight had come off.  Everything was working.  And, I was put back on Metformin – 1,000 mg twice a day.

It took about 18 months between diet, exercise and meds for me to get to an A1c of 5.9.  I was pleased with that.  Along the way I had managed to lose just under 65 pounds.  I had learned what I could eat, and more importantly what I could not eat.

Then, I got a bit cocky.  I went a bit off of my diet and did not walk as often.  What happened?  I gained about 7 pounds and found that every pound counts.  My A1c went up to 6.2.  Not good enough for me.  So, I went back to what I knew worked.  I went back to completing my food diary every day and walking a minimum of five times a week.  I went back to the basics for Diabetes survival.

It’s a battle, but I am losing the weight.  My last A1c was 6.1.  Still higher than I want.  I am still on Metformin and have found the right dosage for me: 500 in the morning and 750 at night.

So, currently: A1c – 6.1.  Average glucose reading for the last 90 days is 98.  I take an average of about four readings a day at different times including two hours after I eat.    My average for the last 14 days is 94.  My average glucose goal is about 90 to 92.  My personal A1c goal is 5.8, right now. The goal for the next 12 months is an A1c of between 5.5 and 5.7 without any increase in medication. The longer term goal is to be completely off of meds.

Do I know something about the battle you might be having?  Yeah.  Do I know what works for me?  Yeah.  Do I know Diabetes can be controlled and managed?  Oh, yeah. Do I know the general rules for controlling and managing Diabetes?  Yeah.

Do I know you can control your Diabetes? ABSOLUTELY!  Your best life is just ahead of you.  You can not just survive Diabetes; you can THRIVE.  You can live better, longer, healthier if you take just a few steps.  It’s not just deciding; it’s doing. It’s taking up the battle knowing it’s the biggest battle you will ever be in against an enemy that is cruel and will never take a prisoner.  You are in a battle for you life – AND YOU CAN WIN!

As always, thank you for reading.  I know you can beat Diabetes and control it.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet, Meds and More!, Prediabetes

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

