Eat Your Way Through Life

 

When I was first diagnosed and met with a dietician they had one piece of advice for me – Eat.  Eat six times a day.  Three meals.  Three snacks.  And, don’t skip any.

Did I hear them right?  I was supposed to eat?  Yep, I heard them right and  followed their advice.

One of the secrets I have learned is that to win the battle to control Diabetes is that I have to eat – and eat often, like about every two to three hours.  Whether I am hungry or not, I eat a bit.  I eat more ‘by the clock’ than I did before being diagnosed.  Why?

Well, eating a snack between meals keeps sugar levels kind of even, but more important, it keeps you (or me) from getting too hungry.  What happens when you get hungry?  You want to eat…and eat…and eat.  In fact, if you are anything like me, you really want to eat a lot of carbs because they fill you.  That’s kind of a no-brainer, right?  Carbs fill the void.  And when I am that hungry, I might not stop eating when I should.  What else do carbs do?  They turn into sugar – not something a diabetic needs a lot of, that’s for sure.

Stop eating when I should?  You saw that, did you?  The fact is your stomach is full before your brain communicates it.  Why?  I don’t really know.  I just know it’s true.  If I count my carbs and eat my meal – follow my little plan, I stop eating before I am full and about 10 minutes later, I am suddenly satisfied.  It’s amazing how that works.  Almost like magic.  What I am doing is allowing time for my stomach to get in touch with my brain to let me know I am full.

One of the keys to having that discipline to stop eating is to eat a snack between meals so I am not ‘starving’ when I finally get to the meal.  The snack, for me, is about 15 to 18 carbs and I make sure I eat it.  In fact, I have a snack three times a day – morning, afternoon and night.  The reality is that I am eating far more often than I ever have because I thought snacking caused me to gain weight.  I was wrong.

Smart snacking – 15 carbs of the right foods – is part of a good weight loss program and is a strong tactical move in your battle to control Diabetes.  What are the right foods?  The American Diabetes Association has a list of them broken down into carb count – how convenient!

So, eat and be merry…and beat back Diabetes!

As always, thank you for reading.

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet
4 comments on “Eat Your Way Through Life
  1. Kathy J says:

    Another great post, Phil! So important, too – this was part of my problem: not knowing when to stop. Let the brain catch up with the stomach … great advice! 🙂
    -K

    • Kathy,
      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. This was a lesson I learned through trial and error. I really hated the idea that I might have to go through life continually hungry – it does not have to be!
      Phil

  2. rundadrun says:

    Thanks for a great post! I have found the same thing to be true for myself. I have gotten where I eat my snacks even if I am not hungry and my BG is doing great. Looking forward to more great info!
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

