Creepin’

It’s happening.  All around us.  Maybe even to you.  I know it’s happened to me.  It’s diabolical and inevitable.  And, it will effect your blood sugar.  It’s portion creep.

In beginning I measured everything.  I had measuring cups and spoons and gave myself the appropriate portion of whatever food I was going to eat.  Pretty simple and very reliable.  Measuring cups and spoons should be in your kitchen.  You can get both for less than $3.  You need to use them in your battle with Diabetes; they are very important weapons.  You use them to know how much to serve yourself.  I mean who knew that most breakfast cereals carb content is based on a 2/3 cup serving.  You need a measuring cup to know what 2/3’s of a cup is.

As a little aside – I noticed that a serving or portion of potato chips is about seven or nine chips – that’s what the nutritional information on the back of the bag is based on.  Come on, who eats seven potato chips.  But, think about it for a second, if a serving is so few chips, the how many servings do the bags in vending machines contain?  Over two?  How often would you share that bag with anyone?  The makers must live in La-La Land.

Meanwhile, back in the kitchen, it wasn’t long until I just started to eyeball my servings checking them every once in a while to make sure I was close.  Well, it had been over a year since I checked and I got curious.  Somewhere along the ling, 2/3’s of a cup of cereal became well over a cup.  The portion just kind of creeped and got larger and larger.

So, I have begun to use my friends the measuring cups and spoons more often.  Sure, I’ll go back to eyeballing the serving, but will verify I am right more often,

If you want, you can add a basic scale to your kitchen as another tool.

Just, beware of the portion creep.  It will happen and will bring evil upon you.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

