Diabetes Underground

There must be a Diabetes Underground.  Some sort of secret organization.  Maybe there are secret meetings going on somewhere.  If you know where the next one is being held, please let me know.  There have to be meetings.  Kind of like one of those Fill-the-word-in Anonymous organizations where people gather to share and get support.

Maybe not.

We all seem to try and handle Diabetes in private; on our own.  And, for most, when we do that there is usually only one clear winner: Diabetes.  Trust me, you don’t want the disease to win more than it already has.

Wouldn’t it be great to be able to go to meetings to meet and find other diabetics?  To share victories and tough times?  To gain support and courage to face the next trip into a 7-11 to get coffee, and just get coffee?  You know what I’m talking about.  The courage to say no to doughnuts, cookies, and all sorts of ‘good stuff.’  I happen to know from personal experience it was saying yes to those things that helped create me as a diabetic.

Yeah – we make ourselves into diabetics; we give it to ourselves through the choices we make over the course of many years.  I am referring to Type 2 Diabetes.  The Diabetes that is way beyond epidemic proportions.  It is, for the most part, self-inflicted.  We give Diabetes to ourselves and then just try to handle it by ourselves.  Not the brightest of moves when we are in the battle of our lives for our lives.

I know some are embarrassed by the diagnoses and have a tough time dealing with it.  But the truth is that if each one of us uses the same control it took to eat the cookies, pie, ice cream or heavy carbs, we can control Diabetes.  What am I talking about? If you are like me, you ate when you weren’t hungry.  If you do that, it takes an act of will to eat.  So, channel it into truly disciplined eating habits.  You really aren’t that far off.  A few changes and you can control Diabetes.  I know I must sound a bit nuts to you, but I know you can do it and you probably already have the tools to do it.

Are we just diagnosed, tested every so often and sent on our way to try and cope as well as we can?  I know, sometimes it seems that way, doesn’t it?  We don’t look any different than other people.  In fact, I have been told I look “normal.”  I think they meant it as a compliment, but it took me by surprise.  What does a diabetic look like?  Being me, I asked that question.  The answer?  “You know.  Diabetics are either really thin or over weight.  You look normal.”  Hmmmm.  That perception is just not right.

As I write this I know that about 8+% of the population are diabetics.  So, count about 12 people and statistically one of them is a diabetic.  Can you tell which one just by looking?  I might get some visual clues, but I wouldn’t be sure.

What do we need to do?  Well, borrowing from another group, we need to come out of the closet.  We don’t need to announce to the world we have Diabetes, but if we don’t hide it; if we aren’t embarrassed about it; we can find one another just through casual talking and observation of eating habits.  Then – get this – we can encourage one another!  You can help one another be successful in controlling and managing Diabetes.

Wouldn’t that be great?  There would be more successful diabetics and the disease would begin to lose its grip on you – and your future.  It would be time to celebrate!  Just think of all that we could share!  How we could encourage one another toward success.  It would be great!

I’ll start. Hi.  My name is Phil and I am a Diabetic.  There’s one. You know how to contact me.  I meet here most evenings.

As always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

ronhervey.wordpress.com/

Ron Hervey - Screenwriter

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

