It Happened to Me! Eating Out Brings a Surpise

The other night I went out for Chinese food.  Okay, I can hear you now – there are a lot of sauces and hidden sugars in Chinese food.  I know that, and knew that before I went, but I had a plan…that did not work.

So, I knew I was going to have Chinese food and kind of knew what was on the menu.  Let me tell you straight off – most Chinese food is not a diabetic’s friend.  There are a lot of sauces that contain sugar and white rice, no matter how it’s prepared is not great for us.  What do you think goes into Sweet and Sour Pork?  If you said sugar, you are absolutely right.  Guess what?  I avoid Sweet and Sour Pork and Sweet and Sour Anything.

Like I mentioned, I had a plan before I went.  I thought I knew what I was going to have.  There’s a lesson there about eating out – have a plan.  You know what you can eat, so make a plan and stick to it.  So many places have their menus online that it has become easier to make that plan.  They even have nutritional information which gives carb counts online.  If you know you are going out to eat, take a few moments and look online, okay?

So, I begin to order based on my plan and what happens?  “Gee, I’m sorry, but we are out of that.”  Okay, time for Plan B.  “We don’t have that right now.  If you want to wait, we can make some for you, but it will be about 25 minutes.”  Hmmmm.  What to do?  Plan A was heavy on the vegetables and low on sugar – safe. Plan B was a chicken dish – also low in those hidden sugars.

There was no Plan C.  So, I ‘bit the bullet’ and had items that I knew would not be great choices.  Sure enough, when I checked two hours after beginning to eat, my glucose was 152.  High.  Very high for me.  I am used to seeing numbers like 120, and lower.  152 was stratospheric for me.  Tonight after having grilled chicken and steamed vegetables my number was 102 two hours after starting to eat – much better!  And, that was before I took my meds.

So, my lesson was take more time and come up with multiple plans – like have a Plan C and even a Plan D.  Yes, it takes just a bit extra work, but if you know you are going out before hand, take a few minutes to know what you can eat so you don’t have the surprise I had.  And, if that fails to work, stick to the foods you know will do the least damage in terms of keeping your numbers low.

And, for those times when it’s a spur of the moment thing – well, you know what you can eat and maintain your numbers.  Maybe you have a salad – there are some great ones out there.  Or, chicken/fish/beef with vegetables and a salad.  Note I did not mention dinner rolls, bread or any kind of potato – all of them carry carbs that may not be your friend.

Go out and eat.  You have to live.  Make a plan if you don’t know the menu.  Enjoy your time out.  But think about what you are putting in your body.  If you don’t have time to check the menu and nutritional guides online – stick to the foods that work well for you and your body.  And, stay away from sauces and desserts that have sugar in them – not your friend.

You can do this.  You can be successful in controlling and managing diabetes.  I know it.

And, as always, thank you for reading.

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,007 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

