Why Exercise?

There was a comment today and in it, they asked if I thought exercise helps control diabetes.  I thought, “Of course it does.  I have only beat that into the ground.”  But then I realized I had started writing the blog on another service and have not copied over all of the posts, so there was no way you could know how important I believe exercise to be in treatment – the control and management – of diabetes.

So, without further ado – Introducing EXERCICE!

We hear it from the day we are diagnosed.  Exercise.  Exercise.  Exercise.  Every conversation I have with my doctor or nurse includes a brief chat on the topic.  So, why is it so important that it has become part of the diabetic mantra?  Diet.  Exercise.  Medication. Step right up and let me tell you what I have learned.

You have to know I hated any kind of exercise for years and years.  Hated the thought of running or strength training or (God forbid!) going to a gym. When I heard the word ‘exercise,’ I heard ‘pain.’ Why would I ever want to put myself in pain

Then….(doom music, please)…I was diagnosed with diabetes and told I should exercise 30 minutes a day.  Walking counted.  Housework counted.  Walking around work could count.  Just about any activity that got me off of my rear counted. I thought that this was something I could do.  So, I just started walking 30 minutes a day.  Just 30 minutes – very important to remember that number.

So, what happens when I exercise?  A bunch of things including:

  • Losing weight.
  • Curbing hunger.
  • I just feel better.
  • Cholesterol goes down.
  • Blood pressure goes down
  • And the all time biggie for diabetics – it allows blood cells to more easily absorb sugar (aka glucose).  And that results in, you guessed it, lower glucose readings.

In fact, regular exercise is a key ingredient to controlling diabetes.  (Cue the sounds of triumph!!!)

Do you want to know more about the science behind it?  Read all about it here.

How long do you need to exercise for?  Yep, that’s right it’s a pop quiz – only 30 minutes per day five (or, go big and do six) days a week.  Hey, if you have a dog, use the time to take it for a walk…just make sure you walk the dog and not carry it!  He may need the exercise, too.

As always, thank you for reading and keep up the good fight.

“Exercise should be regarded as tribute to the heart.”  ~Gene Tunney

“If your dog is fat, you’re not getting enough exercise.” ~Unknown

 

I am not a doctor or health professional. I am just a guy who is working everyday to control Type 2 Diabetes. My goal is to offer hope, help and solutions for day-to-day living for the diabetic. The disease can be controlled. It can be managed. And, you can do it!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Exercise & Diet

Leave a Reply

Newsletter
Subscribe to the official War On Diabetes Newsletter, Dispatches From The Front Lines, by going to www.warondiabetes.org.
Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,009 other followers

Archives
Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Saving Morris

1960 Series 5 Morris Oxford

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

Libby Cole

Romance writer and reader

What I Write

The Adventures of an Erotica Author

Kindness Blog

Kindness Images, Videos, True Life Stories, Quotes, Personal Reflections and Meditations.

praythroughhistory

Heal the past. Free the present. Bless the future.

Bittersweet Diagnosis

Happy Tummy // Happy Mind // Happy Life

War On Diabetes

You can Prevent, Delay, and Control Type 2 Diabetes

missiontomission

Short devotions and spiritual thinking

Sugar Free Mountain Biking

Mountain bikes and living with diabetes.

Loosing 6 pounds in 5 weeks

Challenging myself

She's in Prison

Poetry by Leanne Rebecca Ortbals

